The Summer Queen by Elizabeth Chadwick

I have not had the pleasure of yet reading this new title from Elizabeth Chadwick, but I know her writing enough to trust this enthusiastic review from M.K. Tod. Will be reading the book soon. Join me.

A Writer of History

The Summer QueenWhen I began THE SUMMER QUEEN by Elizabeth Chadwick – a signed copy, I might add – I promised myself I would read it purely for pleasure rather than with pen in hand to take notes or mark passages for further examination. And I did just that. However, since my mind is still humming with the pleasure of Chadwick’s story, I thought I would use the top attributes of favourite historical fiction from the 2013 historical fiction survey to explain my enthusiasm for this novel.

(1) Feeling immersed in time and place – As a reader of historical novels, I expect to be transported to another world and in this case I was ready to dwell in the early 12th century the moment I opened The Summer Queen. In the very first chapter, descriptions of household activities, garments worn, food served and a pilgrimage to Compostela set the scene immediately. Ancient terms enter the text, dialogue reflects a time…

View original post 612 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

